Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      seekingfurther
      Participant

Hi,

This is my first time posting here.

I have been with my partner for (detail removed by moderator). We are not married, have no children and both have professional jobs, working full time.

As it always starts, our relationship was great at the beginning (although I do wonder if there were red flags even back then, which I chose to ignore). Over the last (detail removed by moderator) things have got worse. He has gradually become more and more emotionally abusive (never physical). He shouts at me almost every day, for the smallest thing. It could be that I’ve not made his dinner right, I’ve not answered him in the correct way, I’ve disagreed with him about something, I put the dishwasher on when he didn’t want it on, I moved his stuff or I didn’t move his stuff! This can be to my face or he will message me repeatedly while I’m at work (the latest was (detail removed by moderator) where he attacked almost everything about me, ended up saying I was emotionally blackmailing him, abusive and gaslighting). It’s always my fault though, of course. I should have just muted him or I am too sensitive or defensive or passive aggressive. Or it’s an external problem that I should understand about, without him telling me about it.

I have repeatedly tried to talk to him about the issues to sort things out but it’s never changed and I know it never will. He does acknowledge though, occasionally, that he’s like Jekyll and Hyde and “I must be hard to live with”.

I’ve gone to leave before but I always talk myself out of it – he’s stressed, it’s COVID so everyone is having it tough and I should be more understanding, it’s only shouting – I am too sensitive, he’s being reasonable and I’m just not seeing his side, he is lovely when he isn’t shouting and I know he loves me really.