Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      last one standing
      Participant

i look back and think was it just him at fault? maybe he did love me? maybe he misses us? i find it hard to sleep, but then i look back at all the nasty names he called me and our children he was never like other men i look at other lasses and see how happy they are and think will i ever have that?

Herindoors
      Participant

Hi Polly. Yes I have done this many times, minimised what my ex did. Each incident alone does not sound like much but add them all up together and you see the cumulative effect that they have, and that’s just the emotional abuse. When the violence started, that’s when I began to put it all together in my head. To stop blaming myself (like he did) but I am still learning, through counselling, not to minimise what he did. I do believe my ex loved me but it was a toxic type of love and not one that is healthy. I am sure he does miss you but that does not mean he should or deserves to be in your lives. Its so confusing because I think with all of us there were good times, but they don’t and should not outweigh the abusive times x*x

SilkyHalide
      Participant

Yes this is the hardest part. And one reason why I didn’t leave. We had very good times. One time I was feeling close to leaving we were on a family night out and some were saying how fantastic he was. I looked at them and had to agree because when it was good like that night he was like everything you would want. I actually managed to break through to him about the name calling in the last couple of years. And he stopped( so he is in control) but now he’s minimising it again and saying it’s so unfair I am accusing him of abuse for calling me pathetic. Every couple call each other names once in a while.