Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Tobfree
      Participant

Is being guilt tripped and feeling scared confused bullied walking on egg shells etc etc by his punishments and cruel mistreatments towards me even when it seems kind their hidden intent which is not good towards me lots of the time
      Is all this coercive behaviours

BeautyMarked
      Participant

I’m no expert and trying to navigate all of this myself, but everything you say absolutely sounds coercive and controlling behaviour. You should not have to put up with any of this and as hard as it is I hope you can get free x

gladtobefree
      Participant

I think coercive behaviour has us all questioning if it is coercive or not. It’s comes in all different forms and sometimes is very subtle. I think that anything that makes you feel uncomfortable is not right. My ex partner is not the aggressive type outwardly and is quite the opposite yet he managed to make me feel guilty and question of if I was the abusive one all the time. He did eventually show an aggressive side after I had our baby as he knew u could not fight back and was vulnerable. I read an interesting thing about abusive people the other day and it outlines the common phrases that they use such as saying “sorry” often yet not meaning it or “you are always acting like this”. I have heard them all and after I researched these behaviours it made it easier for me to understand what was happening and how to deal with it xx

Twisted Sister
      Participant

Dear tobfree

Yes, the punishments and cruel mistreatments that mean you are forced to behave differently, to therefore be under his control. Coerced through fear, of punishments, of consequences, of guilt of suffering because he’s makes himself out the victim, because he might kill himself, or threaten to kill you or harm you. All ways of coercively controlling someone.