Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

Hi. I am new to this and my journey has been a very secret one. I have struggled for a very long time. I was in a very abusive relationship and although I knew this at the time to an extent, it wasn’t until years later that I realized that I had minimized and disconnected from the events as a way of coping. Memories were very hazy so I was very confused and unsure about things but how I felt at the times of incidents were just as strong now as the feelings I felt at the time of events. I didn’t realise that I was experiencing flashbacks or PTSD until (detail removed by moderator) when I was struggling to function due to daily flashbacks and I had to open up to someone about my past. This helped me so much as well as learning about how powerful the brain is and what it does to help us cope after trauma. It really helped me to understand things. This year I am learning to manage my thoughts and emotions much better and I am being kinder to myself. I really do feel like I am slowly going to the other side of trauma after (detail removed by moderator) of struggling alone. It is never too late to open up about trauma and it is really helpful to share your struggles with others you trust. I am starting to feel free and I wish you all the very best x

KIP.
      Participant

Hi, Kindness, welcome and thank you for sharing such a positive post. Abuse thrives on silence. I found The Body Keeps The Score to be a great book and the author has some stuff on YouTube. Bessel Van Der Kolk x I too struggled with PTSD for a long time, I’ve heard it described as dragging a sleeping wolf around. At least with anxiety and depression you know what it is and when it’s happening. PTSD is a completely different torture. Hang in there and be very kind to yourself.

Anonymous
      Inactive