Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      ThinkHappyStayHappy
      Participant

Hi, I’m new to this so not sure how all this works. Maybe if I share a little about what has happened and I would be appreciate any advice.

I recently left a mentally abusive relationship. Since then I have had some harassment problems. I didn’t realise it throughout the relationship, how controlling and manipulative was.

Just from looking on the internet it sounds like he was a sociopath and n********t. I have panic attacks and severe anxiety now. Struggle to sleep. Constantly looking over my shoulder, wondering what his next move is going to be.

Anybody know how to overcome my fear of him?

SunshineRainflower
      Participant

Hi ThinkHappy,

I was where you are now not very long ago and know that feeling of fear well. It started to naturally ease off after a while and now I only get moments of fear. We go through a grieving process after an abusive relationship and you will go through all sorts of emotions, it is a rollercoaster but much better than being involved with someone like that.

I believe my ex was also a psychopath/sociopath, I was terrified of him when I realised. There are a lot of good resources online to read, youtube videos and books. Have a look at Lundy Bancroft’s Why Does he Do That. I also found the book Psychopath Free really helpful for this specific type of abuse (most abusers don’t have personality disorders).