Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author

Hello everyone,
      This is my first time posting. I’m quite excited to have discovered this forum and a place where it’s possible to connect with people who can understand the complexity of being in this situation – the few people I have confided in or asked for advice (including a few professionals) don’t seem to see the big picture. It isn’t just as simple as asking him to leave when kids, finances and his potential reaction all need to be considered. From what I’ve researched about abusive men, I understand that you don’t see the worst of them until you try to get out, so any action plan for escape surely needs to take that very seriously?
      My husband is being relatively civil at the moment having had a slap on the wrist from the police – he now has a criminal record for assault and is on probation. I don’t know all the details of what they all said to him whilst he was in the police station (Detail removed by Moderator) etc but it certainly seems to have “educated him” as since he came back he has stopped arguing that his violence is all my fault and hasn’t shown any signs of being angry that I called the police. (He was furious with me the last time). I’m not at all deluded that he’s reformed – but it means that it buys me some time to put a plan in place.