Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Silverbirch
      Participant

Hello. This is my first time here. I’m divorced after decades of abuse and protecting children. It’s a miracle that we are all out alive. I’m beginning to face up to the reality of what I lived through and the damage it has done. When I was in it , it was a question of survival and finding the safest way out. At times I thought I wouldn’t make it. But here I am, with the love of my children and trustworthy friends and doing work I love. I’ve just read the report called Out of the Shadows: Christianity and Violence against Women in Scotland. It’s heartbreaking and it’s exactly my story. So it would help me if there are any other women out there who stayed not only because of being terrorised by their partner, but also because of being pressurised and silenced by the culture of some of the church. Many of the family members and friends who knew what was happening to me and did nothing were and still are committed churchgoers, as is my ex. I can’t get my head around this. It was one of the most soul destroying parts of the abuse. It felt like I was just expected to be silent and try even harder. I felt isolated and almost betrayed. I know that if I’d seen this happening to a friend or family member I would have asked if I could help. So I don’t understand their silence. Thank you .

Darcy
      Participant

Hi beautiful Angel… Silverbirch,
      Well done for leaving … it is heart breaking to read that you were not supported in an environment where you thought the support would be plenty. I would be interested to read that report to. Women need to be supporting and empowering other women always from what ever background they come from.
      I am glad you are out now and send you continued love and support
      Darcy xx

Silverbirch
        Participant

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words Darcy. I really appreciate this.

Empoweredhealing
      Participant