Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Losingbattle
      Participant

I’m new to all of this so bare with me. I dont know what to do anymore. My husband is a functioning alcoholic. His abuse is worse when drinking. He picks arguments over nothing and calls me names like c**t and mornjy b***h and verbally attacks me over money because he is the main bread winner. He has been physically abusive on 2 occasions. He shouts when stressed. He nit picks at everything my (detail removed by moderator) year old daughter does. I want out but I’m scared. I have anxiety and I don’t know how to deal with the aftermath

KIP.
      Participant

Hi, you need support. Start with your local women’s aid and your GP. Alcohol is no excuse for domestic abuse. He chooses to abuse you. I bet he wouldn’t assault you when drinking in front of a police officer so he knows exactly what he’s doing. Abusing you in front of your child is child abuse. You can also involve the police. Got a restraining order too. These men are not so scary when faced with the police and the courts. You’re right to be scared as it’s the most dangerous time for women when leaving an abusive relationship so you need help from women’s aid to make a safe exit plan. Meantime try reading Living with the Dominator or Why Does He Do That by Lundy Bancroft.

Lisa
      Main Moderator

Good morning Losingbattle, welcome to the forum. I can see that you are going through such a difficult time and you are unsure what to do. I can see see from your post that your partner’s abusive behaviour is worse when he has been drinking. It is is important to remember that this is not an excuse for his behaviour.

You could get some support for your your local domestic abuse service, they could help you to decide what you want to do next. You contact also explore some options with a support worker from Women’s Aid through the Live Chat.

Keep posting

Best wishes

Lisa

Losingbattle
      Participant