Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Stuckinturmoil
      Participant

Hi I am new to this group. My husband is verbally abusive towards me. He yells and shouts calling me names over the smallest things.
      He honestly hasn’t paid me a compliment for about (detail removed by moderator). Even when I have worn/bought a dress at his request.
      When I pass an exam or get promoted he barely raises a glance at me. Once he said (detail removed by moderator)
      He barely does any housework. In (detail removed by moderator) he has cleaned the bathrooms (detail removed by moderator). I work full time and I am studying. We also have children.
      For the past (detail removed by moderator)  I have been in turmoil on whether or not I should stay or leave him. I have had counselling (he refused to come to marriage counselling)
      He embarrasses me in front of others all the time. In a disagreement he yells in my face and then doesn’t give me a chance to put my side across by mimicking me in a loud voice. He says (detail removed by moderator).
      Any suggestions I have about anything are rubbished abs criticised when I am normally right.
      He never shows me any affection unless he wants sex.
      He once (detail removed by moderator) tried to have sex with me whilst I was asleep I woke up very upset.
      Seeing how many posts are on this board makes me think are there any nice men out there? If I left him the chances are very high that the next person I meet might be the same.
      I know he is abusive to me but am I being to weak. Should I just man up? Should I leave? My children are school age.

maddog
      Participant

Please speak to school and explain that you are enduring domestic abuse. It’s so common and they will understand and keep an eye out on your children. They will also become important allies in due course. Please also reach out to your local Women’s Aid and Rape Crisis. Your GP should know what’s going on as well.