Viewing 24 reply threads
  • Author
      scaredycat
      Participant

Hi. I’m new to this.
      I’ve just left my husband. I left from hospital where I had been for a month as he had made me very ill. I only had a bag of clothes and could hardly walk so it has been hard. I am now in a safe place and feel frightened, exhausted, overwhelmed and also relieved!

KIP.
      Participant

Wow. How brave of you. Welcome to the forum where you will find lots of support. Well done for freeing yourself. Recovery is a real rollercoaster so take all the help offered. Be very kind to yourself and take tiny baby steps. Sending you a 🤗 and all my positive thoughts at what I know is a horrendous time but you will get through this x

Fudgecake
      Participant

Welcome to the forum. Sending you positive thoughts for a recovery from your illness and hugs for making a brave decision .

scaredycat
      Participant

Thank you Fudgecake and KIP. Your kind welcome means a lot.
      The problem I’m having now is a lot of sexual abuse that I had kind of blocked out/normalised seems to be almost more distressing now than when it happened. I’m not sure how much to say really, but maybe it will get clearer.
      It is amazing to have found this forum and to realise I am not alone but also horrible to realise how common it is.

KIP.
      Participant

Hi, are you receiving counselling? I found that once i escaped my brain had more time to run through what had happened to me and process the real danger I was in. When we are with an abuser the trauma we are in limits our headspace. I think that’s why we continue to stay because we just cannot work out what’s happening to us. Google trauma bonding. Rape crisis have a helpline too and the ladies are wonderful and supportive and can advise you as to local help x

Twisted Sister
      Participant

Dear Scaredycat

A very warm Welcome from me too.

Take your time, theres no rush. You will need time to process everything.