Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author
      AliveAndKicking
      Participant

I am new to this. I have been reading other posts and starting to understand that there is so much similarity with these abusers. Mine is so subtle I have moments of doubting myself. He has even claimed (detail removed by Moderator) that that his behaviour is unconscious. I have been trying to get him out but he refuses, tells me to do what I have to do.
      He finally agreed to move out (detail removed by Moderator) but I have to give him my word that it’s not a ploy to get him out for good. He wants to know if I would consider going to couple’s counselling with him.

At the beginning of the year when I first realised there wasn’t going to be any respite without a separation, I would have considered this. Then I read ‘Why Does He Do That?’ and I’m worried about putting myself in a difficult position by going to counselling with him. I have told him his controlling behaviour is abuse (was I wrong to alert him in this way?).

I am starting to write down incidents – dates, what happened, etc as records as I have no concrete proof. Emotional abuse has no visible scars. Just a very muddled up mind that’s constantly second-guessing itself!

In the last (detail removed by Moderator) weeks, he has admitted controlling behaviours that happened a long time ago but doesn’t see that he hasn’t changed and is still very controlling and manipulative. He says his life was a mess at the time and attributes his behaviour to that. In the last (detail removed by Moderator) weeks weeks, he has tried to blame:

1. ‘investigation for cancer'(apparently when he had some swollen glands he was being investigated for cancer but he couldn’t tell me),