Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      mylovemylife
      Participant

Hi all, I’m a newbie here in the forums. But definitely not a newbie from my husband’s abuse. Im a victim of his mental and psychological torture and i have to stay with him so he won’t take away my son. Had to deal with it for awhile and wait for a miracle to come that he’ll just decide to let us go. 😢

Confused123
      Participant

Hi Hun

Keep reaching out for support, maybe if u call the helpline they can refer u to agencies that could help u to make a plan where your son i snot taken off u, i know for myself i couldn’t leave either till my son would leave with me . I wasted so many years and had him exposed to abuse, if i could turn clocks back i would of reach for help and made a plan sooner

Ayanna
      Participant

He cannot hold you hostage.
      He is not omnipotent.
      Look for allies.
      (detail removed by moderator) That is the place with the strongest bond.

You can leave and keep your child.
      If you have problems with immigration status contact European Migrant’s Network, Sisters Uncut and Rights of Women.

KIP.
      Participant

He’s never going to allow you to go. Never ever. You do not need his permission. Keep trying the helpline number on here. They can help you with a safety plan so that you can leave safely. These men are most dangerous when they think we are leaving. When they feel they are losing control. Being with an abuser we become used to needing their permission to do anything. You don’t.

Malachite
      Participant

If you leave a message for the helpline, they will ring you back fairly quickly (in my experience so far), they don’t say who they are until you confirm your name, and they’re super patient. They recommended Rights of Women to me for child-related worries (they also said to talk to a family solicitor). They seemed pretty certain that the dad can’t just automatically get full custody.