Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Fictionromantic
      Participant

Hi, I’m new to this page and thought I would share my experience with everyone in the hope that it will aid with my ‘recovery.’

I’ve always seen myself as a strong, independent woman, I moved out of the family home when I was a teen and was able to provide for myself and significant other throughout this. I was always the bread winner and paid all the bills etc. So I was shocked when I realised, some time after the break up, that I was actually the victim of an emotionally abusive relationship. It took a long time for me to realise because I hated that word ‘victim’ but I suppose at some point you have to be honest with yourself. I would love to consider myself a survivor but at the minute I feel like I’ve become a victim.