Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Moonbeam
      Participant

Hi, I’m new to this and I never thought that I’d find myself on a survivors forum.

I’m a survivor of emotional and sexual abuse. My ex was my prince charming for the first year of dating and as soon as we moved in he started to change. It started off with little comments about the way I dressed and how I did my makeup (saying outfits I liked made me look like a lesbian). On our anniversary, we went away for a few days, and that was the first time that he raped me. I didn’t think that at the time, but I remember feeling confused and generally not okay about what happened, and he treat it like a joke.
      He really tried to split me from my family and friends by making snide comments about them, but blood is thicker than water and he could never sever that bond between my family or friends.

Things ended when I suspected him of cheating on me. I wasn’t clever about it and he could tell I’d snooped at his phone, but of course it led to him shouting abuse at me and accusing me of cheating… basically anything that he could say to hurt me. However I was terrified and still wouldn’t leave. He used to make weird comments about hurting people and getting revenge, and I was scared about what would happen if I tried to leave.

Well after he disappeared for (details removed by moderator) with another woman, he broke up with me. I guess he felt that he couldn’t control me any longer (I was starting to stand up to him by this point), and now he has someone else to manipulate. I can’t really warn her; I mean, would you believe me if you’d met this gorgeous guy who was charming, appeared to listen and had so much in common with you? Would you believe the “crazy ex?” I didn’t, and it ended up being the worst mistake of my life.