Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Milkpop
      Participant

I have recently left an abusive situation (my first time actually saying/typing “abuse” to describe my situation…).

I ran away from my existing accommodation (I am a uni student) I shared with the guy who was being violent towards me.

It has been less than a week and today I feel the overwhelming urge to go back or to talk to him and ask if he is okay. The day after I left he was scheduled for a medical procedure he was nervous about. His friend just contacted me saying it did not go entirely to planned and he is/was stressed about it.

I feel awful for leaving at such a sensitive time in his life but two days before he had beat me like he hadn’t ever done before and for the first time I was well and truly scared for my own safety.

I know I should not go back. I want to go partly out of convenience, because exams are looming and I do not have a lot of my things with me currently in my temporary accommodation. But I mostly want to go back to see him and tell him I am sorry for leaving and to make sure he is alright. I know I should not do this. Everyone has told me not to go back or to contact him but it is hard. I have been thinking about it non-stop for the entire week. I want to know he is okay. I want to stop feeling like I have abandoned him and that I am not the kind of person who would typically do that to a friend. I have always tried to do right by others and I know by leaving him I am doing right by myself. Still, the guilt is eating me alive right now. How do I stop thinking about going back?

Chickadee
      Participant

Hi Milkpop.

It is difficult to come to terms with the fact that someone that is supposed to care for us would have no regard for us. That is an abuser.

The overwhelming urge, is guilt and control that the abuser has over you. Also the fact that you are caring.

Ground yourself in reality…..this person beat you. And you are in fear for your safety.