Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      MilkTray
      Participant

I don’t know where to start.
      I feel so emotionally exhausted. I’m having a really struggling to adapt after leaving him.

Long story short: after several years of relationship: being gaslighted, cheated, lied etc. I dropped all my boundaries, moved in with him to a (detail removed by moderator) and lost my old friends, and he pretty much controlled all my relationships. It was His friends, wives of his pals, if I made new friends he found reason to separate me from them. Only one stayed that helped me through this sh**t. I put up with soo much, being away and spending most nights alone made me the most miserable person, I lost confidence, I lost self-esteem, I lost people around.
      I have an amazing degree, I had a good job, and good life before him; I stupidly fell for his looks and the personality he has made up. He has a major drinking problem etc.
      The night he assaulted me I will never forget. Bruises have gone now, but the internal emotional ones are very very sore. He was aggressive after booze before, he was pushing, shoving, breaking my stuff, – I had nowhere to go as I gave up my home, and he got me into pretty bad finances since he was always in debt. He was living a separate lavish life spending a fortune on his affairs.

I left the night of the assault. I went to the hospital and the next day I had police knocking the door and I ended up giving statements. They told me I will get help and everything will be ok…. What a lie!!

Since giving the statement I was left on my own. Things turn the opposite way, I feel like now I am being even punished more. I have barely any contact with the police. They keep saying they will contact me update me, and they keep ‘forgeting” apologise text that they will call and nothing since. I left home with nothing and just my 2 pets.