Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Done-with-this
      Participant

Hi all
      I’m new to this and just need some honesty and outsider perspective. My friend say it is abuse but he says he isn’t trying to be.

So he hasn’t always been faithful to me which is where it started. Following his most recent betrayal a few years back he suffered a breakdown which despite everything I supported him through and told no one at his request what had triggered it so I suffered alone which was made worse by the other party spreading rumours about me to try and damage my reputation in case I outed her! I suffered very bad anxiety and was eventually saved by making a new group of friends who bought me out of myself again. But now he hates me going out with them as it’s a mix of males and females.He says they are driving us apart and calls them all sorts of names. If I ask to go out with them he sulks or shouts so I say I won’t go and I get ‘don’t pity me’ or ‘no because people will think I’m abusing you’. I now dread asking (I only go about once a month – they meet more frequently). He has accused me of having affairs with all the men in the group and despite my efforts to involve him he refuses.

When I do go out with them I get texts all the time – some are ok some not but I feel it’s all to keep an eye on me – how’s your night? Who’s out etc through to calling me names and swearing at me. He always asks for a time I’ll be home and if I’m even a few minutes late he will shout and accuse me of having affairs. He tracks my phone all the time (on my day off, shopping, when I’m walking the dog etc) and if I’m taking too long calls me.