Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      SimoneR
      Participant

Hi All,

Im a newbie, my story is a long and complicated one, its been almost (detail removed by moderator) years since I left him, I never reported him at the time to protect my 2 daughters. Fast forward (detail removed by moderator) years and his second wife takes her own life. Enough is enough, I go to the police to report it (I didn’t get as far as a statement) and my eldest daughter who lives with him (A decision she made aged (detail removed by moderator) after he brainwashed her that life would be so much better living with him) has not spoken to me since earlier this year as she says its all lies and wants nothing to do with me unless I retract everything i’ve said to the police (Something I will never do as he has blood on his hands as far as i’m concerned)

I held off on the police investigation due to her having her exams and now she has finished I am wanting to go back and make a formal statement. Like many of you on here (I have read some of the posts) I dont know if just reporting it will be enough closure for me, im not sure if I could go through with the whole court process.

I’m (detail removed by mderator) weeks into therapy for PTSD and feeling quite a bit stronger….

I would really like to hear from anyone who has been through the reporting/making a statement to the police journey and if you could advise me of what happens next etc…

Thanks for reading

iwillbeok
      Participant

Hi SR,

I reported and had my ex husband arrested while still in the relationship – it all happened so quickly. So, I don’t have any experience of reporting historical abuse, sorry.

But I just wanted to say hi and welcome. There are others on here who have reported later, hopefully they will have some wisdom for you.

Iwillbeok x

KIP.
      Participant