Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      citrine
      Participant

I’m still wavering on moving out and have my up and down days. I have somewhere lined up but has anyone moved out slowly over a period of time? So bit by bit you move out and have the place set up. I just feel for me it would give my head chance to accept what I’m about to do.

White Rose
      Participant

If thats what works for you then it’s ok!
      But remember abuse often escalates when your abuser gets wind of you leaving so be very very careful.
      I’ve no experience of slow move I did the bulk of it in a day but I had stashed paper work and small precious things at my mum’s along with a lot of storecupboard things and kitchen stuff I’d bought as extra to the family weekly shop without him realising, plus spare towels and bedding he had no idea we had as that was “my department” at home.
      Good luck. Don’t back down now x

Suntree
      Participant

I thought I could do the move out slowly. We had even split up and talked about how it was going to happen. It all seemed amicable. He even started to do nice things. Family things. I slowly moved precious things to a safe space things he wouldn’t know was gone. I guess deep down I knew it was going to come to a head.

The reality was it gave him time to plan, manipulate me, the kids and others especially those in power.
      i at the time didn’t see the relationship as abusive, because I had a very sterio type of abuse in my head and it wasn’t that bad.
      I also had the I have to do it this way for him and the kids.
      I was so brain washed.

As White Rose says the abuse got worse. I was that lobster in a pot of boiling water without realizing it. Had he not made a mistake one day which meant I had to leave I would hate to have thought what would have happened.

My advice to you is get out fast.

You can set the place up as you are in it as long as it is fit to live in. Think of it like camping if you have to.