Tagged: 

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Namaste
      Participant

Hello this is my first time on this forum. I was in a (detail removed by moderator) year abusive relationship, I left a year ago yet am still really struggling getting on with my life. I can’t sleep and when I do I have awful nightmares where I wake up screaming. I have constant flashbacks and lots of triggers that set me off. I feel as if I am always on edge and am just generally very tired out and just sick of it! I don’t wany to self diagnose as I think that can be dangerous but am wondering whether I have PTSD? I was hoping some one could please shed some light on whether this is normal and whether everyone else’s after affects last as long? As I said I’m new too this and feeling a bit hopeless so some guidance would be brilliant. Thank you!

Anonymous
      Inactive

Hi hun
      I left an abusive relationship my ex totaly destroyed me i was left very ill . I was referred to mental health where they diagnosed me with ptsd . Make an appointment with your gp and try get a referral or do it your self .
      Keep strong hugs X

Serenity
      Participant

It sounds like it, Namaste.

Counselling helps, and look online for exercises to do with Dialectical Behavioural Therapy ( DBT ) and Distress Tolerance techniques.

If it is affecting you very badly, you could ask your GP about EMDR – eye movement therapy. A previous lady on this forum swore by this, and swore by it. I’ve heard it’s very effective- and you might get it through the NHS.

Good luck. I’ve been there. Still struggling at times, but much improved x

Ayanna
      Participant

Hi, yes, this is part of PTSD. I have the same problems. I scream the house down at times.

Unfortunately the NHS refuses to help me until I do something bad.

Speak to your GP. Maybe you get lucky. Otherwise you need to walk the costly path of self payment, if you can afford it.

Lisa
      Main Moderator

Hi Namaste,