Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Tweedy
      Participant

Hi, this is my first post here, but I have been reading others’ posts for some months. Is there anyone here who was living abroad and managed to return to the UK? I am a British national married to a narcissitic foreigner and living in “his” country for a fair number of years. I have no family here, as I moved here alone but I have family back home. I would only wish to ask my family to help out as a last option. Does anyone have any experience of this or can offer some advice please? Thanks in advance.

Anonymous
      Inactive

Hi Tweedy, I’ve got no experience or advice to I’m afraid. Have you considered going to a British consulate in that country and seeing where you stand? Do you have kids that were born over there etc? Xx

iliketea
      Participant

I was advised if you have children together get back to the Uk before you split up. Most countries have very stringent child protection laws and you wouldn’t be able to get home, if that’s where you want to ultimately be. A friend of mine in an English speaking country is having a terrible getting back and it’s horrendous domestic abuse. She’s not allowed to leave permanently with her kids to come to the UK. Is it possible for you to leave for the Uk first? Xx

Wants To Help
      Participant

Hi Tweedy,