Tagged: 

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
      Cloudyskys
      Participant

Hi Everyone, I’m a newbie here and really struggling with my thoughts on the very common question Is it abuse?

I’ve been with my husband for a long time and have a family with him. It occurred to me recently that he may be abusing me because of a seed planted by a friend.
      Basically on many occasions I’ve pulled him up on putting me down and grinding me down. Each time he’s said he’s not, he’s just joking or it’s sarcasm but it really gets me down. This is continuous! I’m also asking the classic Am I too sensitive?

He completely rules the roost in our house, I’m a sahm so have no income and rely on his credit card. I feel I have to ask for permission to buy a lot of things. Generally he’ll let me have most things but I hate asking. I don’t have a say in anything in the house, decor, furniture etc so I’ve given up or have to make sure he’s confirmed it’s ok. I run everything by him and I’m starting to wonder if it’s fear, my low self esteem or just a normal relationship. I can’t make decisions on my own anymore in all walks of life because I’m scared of getting it wrong. His temper scares me and he throws things. He gets angry in front of the children and puts me down in front of them too.
      He’s definitely controlling but I’m wondering if I’m to blame because I let him do it.
      I’m so confused because he’s so lovely most of the time and I’d definitely say he’s my rock. Is it abuse? What is going on?

Thanks everyone xx

KIP.
      Participant