Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      goosegirl2
      Participant

Hello,

This is my first time ever posting about my abusive relationship online. It is one of the only times I have ever spoken about it really. No one in my family realizes that my relationship was abusive (at least as far as I know) and I have made passing comments to friends but never come right out and said that I was in an abusive relationship. I’m not sure how to say it and I don’t know if it’s necessary. I am also in a new relationship that is going very well but I am still afraid to tell him about my past abuse because I am afraid he will use it against me or won’t understand. He’s a good person as far as I know but I’m still cautious in confiding in him because of my past.

Any help is appreciated,
      Thank you

snowbunting
      Participant

Hello Goosegirl2, I have been through not telling anyone for a very long time and then finally speaking, the impact on some of my family was very hard to see, as we protect both ourselves and others when we do not speak up but I have owned my past and I do speak about it now both for myself and for other women.
      I haven’t been in the position of telling a new partner but I have wondered if it would make me vulnerable should I ever confide something that may be seen as a weakness to another man.
      Maybe in time you will know yourself when the right moment presents itself or perhaps seeing a counsellor would help to talk through what has happened to you in the past. Take care.x

diymum@1
      Participant