Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      pigglewump
      Participant

I left my abusive marriage (detail removed by Moderator) ago, losing pretty much everything in the process including my dogs.

I couldn’t work during the relationship as my XH was unwell. I studied for a degree at home, achieving the best result possible, which was amazing considering my XH wouldn’t even let me sleep.

I needed a year to obtain a further qualification, having been out of the job market for years and also the field I want to go into requires it, so I’m studying full time and can’t currently work.

My XH left me with tens of thousands of pounds of debt and liabilities. I had to apply for my decree absolute with no financial award or provision given he was using the legal process as another form of control and abuse. It wasn’t worth it. He is being sued by multiple people, his life is a mess. Going NC was the only way to preserve my sanity. I thought I would at least have a bit of financial support whilst I retrained given I was basically his unpaid carer and slave for years on end, but no.

I initially felt so good after leaving, I managed to get set up in a new flat with financial support from another man who I started a relationship with. I had no furniture, no household items, nothing. My XH kept it all.
      That ended, but I’ll always be grateful to him. I couldn’t have done it otherwise. It’s amazing I managed to attract someone so lovely after everything, and I was completely in love with him but the reasons we couldn’t be together were complicated. So although the practical help was a god send, emotionally I was totally destroyed when it ended. The only saving grace when I left my XH was that I never loved him, so that part of me was at least spared. But now that’s been lost too.