Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      thankgoodness
      Participant

I am a long-term abuse victim. I don’t know how to control angry feelings. Where can I get anger management classes?

Cecile
      Participant

It has long been recognised that “anger management” classes do not work. If you are recovering from abuse and experiencing anger this may be a symptom of trauma. In this case you would need to be assessed by a psychologist, especially if you feel you are impacting on people around you. It is really important to talk to your doctor. Long term depression can also bring very angry feelings. In the short term you may need help through medication to manage your emotions and mental well being. I am not a doctor, but it sounds like you are crying out for help. Posting here, talking to others through the forum can be a wonderful way to ventilate negative thoughts and feelings and to feel supported.

thankgoodness
        Participant

Thank you Cecile. I really want to speak to my doctor about my mental health after the current world crisis. I remember in the past I was given antidepressants but it gave me bad side effects so I had to stop it, ever since then I have not discussed my mental health.

HopeLifeJoy
      Participant

I agree anger management class isn’t the answer here. Of course you are angry, goodness I was so angry when I discovered I have been abused not just once but twice, oohhh it felt like I am going to explode.

You’re going through grief and trauma, there is a lot of anger in both needing letting out, and out it has to come, so it can evaporate. It is very normal to feel anger after having been abused.