Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Averagegirl01
      Participant

I know I’m new to this and have only just left my abuser but why does it feel like I could literally cry and beg for him
      To come back 🙁

Grey Rock
      Participant

Maybe trauma bonds. I definitely had these but only recently learned about them . There are lots of good YouTube videos explaining about these. If you can maintain no contact it will get easier.

GR

Grey Rock
      Participant

Rid of that feeling of wanting to reach out?

Well, spending time with family and close trusted friends helped when that was possible.

Mostly just educating myself about abusers and the things they do to control. Once I’d recognized what he was properly it was easier to stay away. Dr Ramani and Melanie Tonia Evans were my main YouTube watches. I took notes too lol.

I had to treat him a bit like an addiction to be beaten in a way. I just know that I need to stay as far away from him as possible because he’s so good at getting me believing his lies and feeling scared of upsetting him, like it’s my job to sort his life out for him and guilty for taking my life back. So I keep no contact and if he contacts me I am grey Rock. I do not react or respond.

I did need to change numbers and passwords and avoid social media for a while.

GR

Eyesopening
      Participant

Its so hard. I just discovered Melanie Tonia Evans, I also really like Dr Denise Dart, and Vivian Mcgrath’s videos on YouTube.
      I am struggling to stay away. I think as I learn and hear more from
      Others that this is perfectly normal, it makes me feel better. I have to keep re-reading my diary and posts on here…to realize the truth .. theres trauma bond, cognitive dissonance, manipulation, abuse amnesia, so many things we have to overcome, thats why its so hard. But it’s normal..
      Stay strong xx

Averagegirl01
        Participant