Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Yogiiii
      Participant

Hey , I’m a newbie and to be honest felt very silly making an account but here I am because I don’t feel I can talk to anyone even though u have a support network. All my life I have maintained this version or myself that I like to present and that in a way has extended to my relationships too. Which has made me feel like I wanna protect my image and the image of my partner. Just some background for you all , both my mother and my sister have experienced domestic violence in their relationships so I have always been aware of the build up, signs, ways to manipulate all that. I grew up without knowing my father but I never noticed or felt that it had an effect on me. I met him for the first time at (detail removed by moderator) and have seen him about (detail removed by moderator)  so it speaks volumes but I do have good examples of men in my life to combat this. My first relationship ended and it was definitely abusive. More emotional than anything else but towards the end he increasingly became aggressive and my family background meant that very quickly I ended it after it became physical one time. He however treally shattered my confidence and personality. I found myself isolated after the relationship ended and didn’t even realise I had literally pushed everyone out of my life but him. I spent a year practising what I felt was self love and nourishment. Fast forward I go to uni and meet someone who is pretty much the opposite in every way. He wasn’t insecure , he was outgoing and simply was kind. I could be myself. After a few years we became serious and moved in together and generally all is well , I feel free. I don’t feel controlled. My current partner has gone through a lot in his life,family issues and abuse of his own but for the most part we helped each other navigate through all of this. Lockdown has only naturally made him more depressed and down, i say this to say recently (detail remove