Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Anxietypersonified
      Participant

Hi, I’m sure this will be long so please bear with me. I’ve been married (detail removed by moderator) years. My husband was amazing in the beginning – so full on, complimentary and intense. I got swept along with how lovely he was and when he proposed less than (detail removed by moderator) months in, I said yes. Just after we got engaged, he went abroad for work. The time difference made it difficult to talk, and one evening I was busy sorting the kids tea, showers, homework etc and I came downstairs to see over 40 missed calls on my phone. When I answered he went mental – “(detail removed by moderator)!”, so I hung up. Ten minutes later he called back, full of apologies aboug jetlag and being worried about me.
      And so it began. I worked as a (detail removed by moderator), and he had to know my rota. He would ring me the minute I should have finished (detail removed by moderator), and if I was late he’d want to know where I was and what I was doing. He had to speak to me countless times throughout the day, and it was so suffocating. He doesn’t like me doing anything without him, or going out with my friends. He accused me of speaking to other men, scrutinised my social media to see comments I’d left and photos from the past.
      I could see his mood a mile away and it would get to the point that I’d be walking on eggshells to not escalate things.