Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Inactive

Hello everyone
      I’m new on here and this is my first time to post,
      I came out an emotionally abusive relationship (detail removed by moderator), last year was extremely difficult but I survived and survived the court system,
      There is a restraining order in place that covers me n cover that he has to go through social services or court to have any contact with my children, since this was in place his sent my oldest (detail removed by moderator), I asked womens aid for advice who sed it was pushing the boarders of the restraining order, also he put child meintance into my bank each month.
      I didn’t give my child the (detail removed by moderator) just saved it upstairs away for when their older. But this week unexpectedly the police rang me under Claires law, some information shocked me long story short while on that call the officer told me that (detail removed by moderator), they advised me to ring and report it. Iv spoken with family and friend some of which feel it petty to report it as its aimed for my children, has anyone been in this situation, feel like I’m sinking again and getting over whelmed.
      Thank you

Wants To Help
      Participant

Hi Rhodes Island,

Welcome to the forum 🙂

Restraining Orders / Protection from Harassment Orders / Non Molestation Orders are all legal orders that prevent contact with someone in ANY way. They criminalise ordinary behaviour. A breach doesn’t have to be nasty, abusive or threatening.

A RO or PHO are usually worded along the lines of…

[name of suspect] is not to make contact directly or indirectly with [name of victim(s)] unless via a solicitor or authorised third party, not to attend within [a certain amount of distance] the home address or work address of [name of victim]