Tagged: 

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Lonelygirl1
      Participant

This is my first time posting on here and I am a little nervous. My husband and I are fairly newly married. I know the early days of marriage can be difficult but I think I am experiencing more than normal. Whenever he upsets me, he tells me it’s my fault for getting upset and why on earth would he say sorry when it was my fault for being upset. He’s also taken away my debit cards before, can be very insulting about my weight and spends most of the evening away from me on his computer. Every time I try and speak to him I get shouted at. He also follows people for p**n. When I confronted him about this, he said that my feelings don’t matter and it’s what he wants. I have tried talking about things and it just seems to have made things worse. I feel as though he doesn’t respect me. Am I being a dramatic as I know these things are only so small compared to other things people go through.

I am sorry if I wasted any of your time reading this.

Strongenough
      Participant

Welcome to the forum,

Your experience and feelings are personal to you, none of us here will judge you. From what I can take from your post there are abusive behaviours being demonstrated by your husband. Not taking into account your feelings, blaming you and controlling finances are all very typical DA behaviours.

It’s hard in the beginning and most women on here will tell you it takes time to realise your in an abusive relationship. You’ve made the first step by creating this post. Keep posting and reaching out. There are a lot of experienced members on here that listen and give advice from their own experience. Your local Women’s Aid can help also. X

Strongenough
      Participant

Ps your definitely not crazy! Although most likely he will try to convince you that you are!

Lonelygirl1
      Participant