Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Imjustme
      Participant

Hello. I’m new here and I am not sure where to begin. I’m not good at writing things so if it sounds like I’m rambling on i apologise in advance. We’ll here I go. I have been with my partner for quite a number of years. At the start everything was good. Then year after year his attitude changed. He gets angry. I no longer have friends or anyone to talk to apart from him. I no longer work due to accusations of cheating. He’s lashed out and hit me in the past a couple of times. I have tried to leave a number of times but always end up. Pressured and made to feel guilty so he comes back. There’s so much more to this. I don’t know how to. Explain it all. I do everything I can to not upset him or make his mood bad. I’ve been told how he treats me is wrong but then I’m made to feel like it’s my fault. Am I crazy? Overreacting? I don’t know anymore. There’s more things to say i just don’t know how to say it.

Darcy
      Participant

Hi beautiful Angel… Imjustme,
      Welcome to the forum and well done for posting, it really does help to get things down in words bit by bit.
      First off I love your user name ‘I’m just me’ … this is exactly who you need to be.. just you. What is your true self telling you about this situation, what is in your heart to do?
      We get so bogged down with our abusers words, we forget to listen to our own.
      What you are describing is text book abuse from your partner. The isolation of no friends and no job is a worry. I myself was in a situation like this and what worked for me was turning inwards to myself. I started to work on my self love, this in time built my self confidence and strengthened my boundaries, finally giving me the strength to leave.
      This only involved small things everyday, but they really did all add up.