Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Survivalmode
      Participant

This is my first time posting. Just a brief synopsis. A short out of a relationship with what I believe to be a sociopath. No physical violence.
      Extreme mental manipulation on a deep psychological level. Financially drained me. There are other issues which I have now reported to the police.

I believe he has the capacity for violence. To my knowledge he is now “seeing” someone living very near my home.
      I live daily in fear and anxiety that I will see him again.

How do I stop this fear. It’s ruining my life now. I’m barely functioning
      I have very few friends and they do not understand. Think I’m over reacting.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated… thank you

HopeLifeJoy
      Participant

Hi welcome Survival mode,
      Very good that you reported him to the police.
      If you feel scared for your life and safety, pls inform the police, they will have to come up with some kind of protection. You can also call Women’s Aid to ask for some tipps.

You are not over reacting at all, the fear and anxiety are very real. I have a sister who I believe is a so***path, who harassed me and made me feel very anxious.
      What helped me is to come up with several plans, I would imagine each scenarios, like running into her on the streets, she coming up to knock on my door and so on.
      If she would come to knock on my door, I would call the police. It was very clear in my head what I would do, this gave me some peace and strength. It helped me because once the panic attack kicks in I can’t think straight anymore.