Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      A.N.Onymous
      Participant

Hi All,

I’m new to the forum. I have just got out of a physically abusive relationship and I don’t have anyone to talk to about it. All my old friends from before the relationship are gone, my current friends are friends of his, and my best friend stopped talking to me about a year ago after I wouldn’t/couldn’t leave him. I’m a PhD student so my current situation is full of academics who I don’t feel I can tell without being judged or asked ‘why didn’t you just leave?’ or I feel I’m putting emotional pressure on people that I could tell. Is anyone else in this situation?

I have spent many years justifying my ex-partner’s abuse and actually completely ignoring it. I can’t even bring myself to type the things I’ve been through. I thought it would get easier once I got out but it is like all of a sudden, I have to deal with all the reasons the relationship ended and that means actually acknowledging they happened. It feels worse than being in it, I can’t seem to acknowledge that I was a victim because I’d have to ask myself why I let it continue. I can’t concentrate on my work and I can’t tell anyone why. If any of you ladies have any recommendations on how to get through this, I would so much appreciate it.

KIP.
      Participant