Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Angne
      Participant

Hi,

I split with my ex (detail removed by moderator) years ago. He is in a high powered job, he’s really smart and was very manipulative and controlling, he continues to be even out of the relationship. We have a small child together and I have another child from another relationship. Since splitting I’ve really struggled with suicidal thoughts, feeling worthless and low self esteem. My work has been drastically effected. My ex took me to court for custody of our child. (detail removed by moderator) and under the pressure I crumbled and openly sobbed which was so embarrassing. He spoke with clarity and confidence, he lied about me and I felt unable to defend myself. The (detail removed by moderator) report says I was inconsistent while talking (I was so nervous even being in a room with him I was having an ongoing panic attack and was in emotional turmoil.) I’m not here for sympathy or anything – I’m just beginning to feel so angry with the system. I thought it was here to protect us but I feel so let down. Why aren’t judges trained in dealing with people with PTSD and know how to recognise signs of an abuser? I don’t know if I’ve slipped through the cracks of a support system or if there just isn’t one. Handing my small son over to a man who is abusive is an ongoing ordeal that I can’t see any end to. I got out of the relationship but feel like I’m still under his control as now he uses what happened in court as another way to control me and my children. Has anybody else had these problems in court? Can anything be done?

Thanks,

A

KIP.
      Participant