Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Neueranfang
      Participant

I don’t think I can go to work next week with everything going on and my Ex still hiding away and the police not able to arrest him.
      I didn’t want to go down the route and tell my work place about all this to avoid the humiliation but (detail removed by Moderator) told me one in four women are experiencing domestic abuse and that it is very likely that someone in my workplace has experienced it themselves or know someone.
      Anyway…does anyone know if every workplace has to have a domestic abuse policy in place?
      And what would it say.I’m building up the courage to tell my employer today but I would like to know my rights beforehand and I don’t want to risk loosing my job!Many thanks x*x

Diverdi
      Participant

sorry you are going through this. I’m not an expert but dont think paid leave is compulsory in the UK yet. You could ring ACAS and ask what rights you have?
      Remember you can self certify for up to one week. Just search for sickness self certificate and you can download the form. You can just say stress related illness if you want to. As you are currently too stressed to do your job.
      I found it was helpful to tell work, but I am fortunate to work with lovely supportive people. It also helped me stay strong knowing other people were aware.

Anonymous
      Inactive

I didn’t want to tell my work either but honestly once I did tell them they were fantastic and really supportive, my boss told me she had previously experienced abuse too. She also said another team member was experiencing emotional abuse but didn’t say who (we are a large team). It may help for them to know. Could you go your doc and get signed off as a temporary measure while your stressed out? You would get statuary sick pay then although it’s not much. Sending hugs x*x

gettingtired
      Participant