Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      purplecat
      Participant

Hi I am really new to this, both forums and facing up to my reality… funny word to get to grips with
      My ex is (Detail removed by moderator). Turns out he had(Detail removed by moderator) years and had been pretending to go to work for at least (Detail removed by moderator) months (Detail removed by moderator). Looking back I suspected something was wrong but he was so convincing, telling me he was working from home or he had had a bonus. (Detail removed by moderator) But my Best Friend sent me a link to a gaslighting fact page 5 months before he was arrested and it sent chills down my spine.
      I have a hearing difficulty and he would pretend to make calls or tell me I hadn’t heard things right. He would stay up late and not share a room with me telling me that he was working late. I wasn’t allowed to learn to drive because I couldn’t handle it. He would buy wine and tell me to relax and then hours later attack me telling me I was an alcoholic and a terrible mother. He would read my messages and emails and then deny it. I look back and I have no idea what was real and what wasn’t.
      (Detail removed by moderator) on mental health grounds but my personal experience and gut instinct tells me different, but (Detail removed by moderator) has encouraged so many people from our shared life to feel sympathy for him and shun me. I am left utterly broken by all this. I have no idea who or what I am anymore.
      I have met someone who is taking all this on and is being an amazing support but I persistently shut him down, pull up the draw bridge. I see myself as nothing more than a fat, ugly, deaf, old, useless failure. I question reality all the time and I keep suffering from panic attacks.