Tagged: 

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Pumpkin1
      Participant

I’m new to this space, it’s all so strange and confusing . Last (detail removed by moderator) my partner was violent towards me during a fight. Nothing like this has happened before, we’ve been together a very long time. The build up to it was stress. Failed ivf, stress at work, I’m estranged from my parents, buying the house we had been renting. After the incident I stayed at a hotel. I spoken with DV charities that were amazing. The big realisation for me was how vulnerable I am as I rely on him financially. I only work part time as I struggle with chronic depression and anxiety. I don’t have family I can turn to, my best friend lives miles away. The depression has isolated me, I can’t bare to see people. The grief of infertility consumes me and since this incident I feel like I can’t trust anyone . I feel so much shame. Part of the reason I don’t want to see people is the shame I feel but I’m so lonely and sad I’m also scared I’ll just blurt out what happened. The incident wasn’t super violent but it felt like he was punishing me for not being able to carry his child. He says it wasn’t that, it was a knee jerk reaction. I believe him but I still have those feelings. I feel so vulnerable – no family, not enough money of my own, I want a family but I’m scared of how much more vulnerable it will make me. My mental health has taken a real dip lately,and I’ve been really struggling with thoughts of self harm. He is in anger management therapy. Rationally I don’t think he’ll hurt me again, but my body feels different – the trauma hasn’t gone . Plus I’m carrying the trauma of infertility too. Plus all the trauma I already had from childhood.

I don’t know how to be around people anymore. Too scared to see my friends . I’m so terribly lonely, scared and sad.

Sad and alone
      Participant