Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Hello beautiful survivors,

I’m struggling today – I’m unable to work due to C-PTSD and (detail removed by moderator) that was caused from the abusive relationship I was in. Since leaving my abusive ex, I’ve lost all ambition, all sense of flow, I have no goals (other than therapy and recovery based aspirations) and when I look into the future I seen nothing – not because I’m suicidal but just because, I’ve lost all ambition.

Before and during the relationship I worked incredibly hard to work in the (detail removed by moderator) industry and as a (detail removed by moderator). I was great at what I did and in (detail removed by moderator) I completed my degree with a first, and left my abusive ex and then, I had a mental breakdown which helped me leave with the help of the lockdown / pandemic.

It’s now 2022 and I’ve lost that whole part of my identity, I’ve tried picking up a (detail removed by moderator) and I cannot use it. All my years of working, studying and I can’t do it anymore. The (detail removed by moderator) it’s all gone and with it, a massive part of who I was. It was my life ambition to be a (detail removed by moderator) – and with smaller projects I was brilliant, but now its just not who I am anymore and deeply lost.

I feel great saddness. I’m just floating around doing yoga, therapy, living back with my parents, learning a lot of about the cycle of abuse and I feel like a big failure. I always expected I’d continue to do a masters, then work, then have children with my ex (thankfully I haven’t) but I’m lost and no life plan. I have no idea when I’ll be ready to go back to work, if I will be, and if I am what career do I want? I’m coming up to (detail removed by moderator) and I am starting to worry about not having children. I haven’t dated anyone since leaving my ex, I haven’t slept with anyone else.