Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Footballfan1
      Participant

I have been disaccociating for around 5 months now.
      The episodes were highly stressful, I was tearful and on edge.
      Yesterday and today, I’ve been disassociated in a positive way.
      It feels strange, but I feel really happy and confident.
      I feel like I’m on a high (without taking any medication).
      Everything seems to be going my way, almost like luck is on my side.
      Does anyone have any experience of this?
      I seem to disaccociate more when it snows, no idea why? 🤔

Moonlit Night
      Participant

Disassociating is a survival strategy; it’s a trauma response so, yes, it’s positive in that it’s you brains way to help protect you from a highly negative reality.

It’s a way of disconnecting yourself, to not allow information to join up about your environment, to help you cope with irreconcilable conflict and cognitive dissonance.

Whilst it’s a perfectly normal response to trauma it also means that you’re not safe.

Twisted Sister
        Participant

I wish someone would enlighten court about this very serious harms that they allow, and now journalists will be allowed also to see it, how much more frightening can it get for a woman than that?

Footballfan1
      Participant

Hi thanks for the replies,
      The nice feeling only last 1 day then yesterday, it was really horrible.
      I felt like I had drank too much caffeine, jittery and on edge.
      I had a headache and couldn’t bring myself to do a lot.
      I hate the feeling, I feel out of control.
      Today I feel like it has lifted, I’m aching all over and feel washed out but at least the dazed feeling has gone.

I think my brain is gearing me up for something dangerous that likely won’t happen.
      My ex was contacting me, and did some scary things.
      He would be worse the longer he started away for.
      This time is the longest he hasn’t been in contact.