Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Galnextdoor
      Participant

Hi all,
      This is my first time posting and I’m not really sure how to articulate my situation at the moment, but I will try my best. I’d appreciate some honest insight as I’m so confused at the minute.

(Detail removed by moderator) I got into a relationship with my current partner. At the time, he and his wife had split up (not the first time), with her citing DV. We had known each other for years and from an outside perspective, he had always appeared the devoted family man so I was shocked. Not at the split per se, more so the allegations.

I was dubious at first as I’ve always believed there are two sides to every story, and initially I would flirt between he was telling the truth about the allegations being false back to being unsure. This was from listening to those around us that knew us both and also his openness at showing me the paperwork and messages etc. During this time he was perfect with me, albeit having depressive moments from not being able to see his children and the stress of legal matters.

There were some early red flags, such as comparing me a lot initially to his wife (always to her detriment) and once being explosive with me as I had said that I didn’t like his obvious flirting when we had gone out. During this moment, he stopped me mid sentence,  (detail removed by moderator) and stormed out of my house. He called me (detail removed by moderator) or so and apologised and blamed the stress. I’ll say at this stage that I have always tried to remain impartial to his ex by saying no matter what, she is still the mother of his children and I don’t like any comparisons or any belittling comments or name calling about either of us. Currently, he still refers to her as “she”…”that woman”….”that” and I really don’t like it.