Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Iamfree
      Participant

Hi ladies I’m new to this but would love if anyone could give me some advice on how I’m feeling and if its normal. I’ve been free for almost (Detail removed by Moderator) now with no contact throughout the whole time, I thought I was dealing with all the issues of what happened during the relationship and when I left I was so happy and getting my life back on track with a new home and feeling good in myself.
      Over the last few weeks I feel like just hit a brick wall and all these emotions have hit me all at once and I don’t know how to deal with them.. its like the realization of all the years of abuse have just suddenly hit me and I began to start drinking heavily. I no drinking is not the answer an have stopped over the last couple of days. I’m just feeling numb and completely drained, as I’m sitting here writing this to you all I just wanna cry feel like I’m all cried out.

KIP.
      Participant

Yes it’s normal. did you ever have proper counselling? You really need to get good counselling to sort out your thoughts and emotions. I found recovery was like the cycle of abuse. The honeymoon period then the anxiety then hit the brick wall. Then picked myself up and it all began again x

Iamfree
      Participant

I am waiting for an appointment, do these episodes tend to get worse or does it ease off over time? as I was in the relationship for many years. Things are replaying over in my mind and its like my head is gonna explode and then I will start getting flashbacks, I don’t no if this is more painful then actually going through the abuse thank you for replying x

KIP.
      Participant