Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      confused101
      Participant

Hi all,

I’m a newbie, and embarrassed to be writing here as my experience does not match the horrible things that have happened to others. I have not been physically or sexually abused, and feel like a fraud/drama queen. Last night I called the helpline, as felt my head was about to explode as wasn’t sure if what has been happening is abuse or not. The lady I spoke to said it definitely was, emotional abuse. For a year, we’ve been together, and from a month in he has been dependent on me – financially and emotionally. He has threatened suicide when I’ve tried to end it previously (sent me images of him self-harming, and said the next time I’d see him would be at his funeral). His mother begged me to talk to him, and I relented. He is extremely volatile, i.e. flying off the handle within the blink of an eye, fine one second then literally the next second shouting all things at me (f’ing b***h). He never attacked my physical appearance – that was always, ‘you’re so sexy’ and ‘beautiful’, which I guess made me feel he didn’t completely hate me, and in a warped way make me feel he saw something good in me that no one else did. I challenged him for being nasty, and that calmed down but came out in other ways, i.e. sarcasm, being derisive/snidey, rather than full blown yelling (though that still happened sometimes, in fact, at least once a week now I think about it). I felt like nothing I did was right, and everything I said was challenged or belittled. He has a very troubled past, and I feel responsible, but at the same time, as the lady I spoke to last night advised, am enabling it. I’m not perfect, I’m a mess and riddled with anxiety after a previous abusive relationship, so feel that might have tainted my views on this one (he says it has, and I can’t see all the good he does for me. It feels however that he gives with one hand and takes with the other. I don’t want grand gestures, e.g. cooking a