Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Bewholme24
      Participant

Hi I’m new to this but decided I needed to find help somewhere. I am safe now that is not the problem and reading all of your stories has been helpful. I’m finding I’m just angry all the time at him and at his family but him mostly. I don’t want to be that angry person but I can’t seem to stop it for long. Any advice welcome

KIP.
      Participant

Healing from Hidden Abuse is a great book. It goes through the stages of healing and anger is just another one of them. You will progress through this stage. Sometimes it’s okay just to sit and feel that anger. I used to imagine that anger in a red balloon and watch it float away. Anger is probably and emotion that was suppressed. Abusers have a real problem with our anger, as much as their own. It’s just another natural feeling for you to embrace and then let go. Anger is healing. Anger can be good. Things get done during the anger stage. I was much more productive in that stage than the shock, denial and despair stage 💕

KIP.
      Participant

Have you ever had counselling? If you can I’d definitely recommend it but only with a trained domestic abuse counsellor.

Lisa
      Main Moderator

Hi Bewholme24,

Welcome to the forum.
      We are sorry to hear that you are having problems coming to terms with the aftermath of your abusive relationship. You are not alone in this. Many women who have experienced abuse struggle with “getting back to normal”. Sometimes the memory of what you endured and the difficulties of starting a new life can make you feel as if you are not healing. It all takes time and people around you may have to accept this. We all deal with things in different ways and this healing process can take time.
      You may see if your local domestic abuse service can offer an emotional support right now. You can search for your local group here.