Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      browngirl99
      Participant

Hi everyone this is my first time posting on here. I been reading a lot of these posts and it feels good to know I’m not alone. I will try keep this as short as I can because I have a lot to take off my mind.

I’m a (detail removed by moderator) woman. I was raised in (detail removed by moderator) and now live in the uk. My family is Muslim, however I have stopped believing many many years ago. My parents are really traditional, their believes and values are very much dependent on the concept of culture, honour, dignity and particularly on what people think. Which is a common trait in the south asian community as you guys might know.

Since I was child I was not allowed to do many things as they believed it was going against their culture. I wasn’t allowed to meet friends, or even participate in group project outside of school. I was told to not have friendships with anyone who was a different colour and religion than me. All of which brought a lot of confusion amongst me and my classmates. In a few words I didn’t get to live through life like the other kids. Hence I had a very lonely childhood and teenage years, but the few friends I had helped me still create some good memories.

Things didn’t get any better as I got older, I thought I’d get more freedom once I turned 18 or reached my 20s or went to uni. Little did I know things would just get worse and worse. I did manage to find a bit more freedom since we moved here, but it took a lot of time and effort. Getting my first job was a nightmare, I kept getting told to quit everyday. Being yelled at for coming late (or on time!) from either work or college was and still is what awaits me everyday at home.