Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Bubblepopbang
      Participant

Hi this is my first time posting so please bear with me this may be a long one 😅
      I’ve known for around 6 months now that my (detail removed by Moderator) year relationship is actually and has always been unhealthy/abuse. Up until then I thought it was normal and that was just how relationships were,things like all the housework and childcare being my responsibility alone and tea was expected to be cooked and on the table (not saying this part is abuse but I feel it’s relevant to build a better picture) I have always been made to feel like I can’t say no to sex, because when I do, I am punished for it the following day usually he will use it against me if I’ve asked for us to do something as a family or he will refuse to look after the children whilst I do something for myself etc. there has been multiple occasions when I’ve said no and he has continued to ask sometimes for hours until I finally give in just so I can get some sleep, again up until recently I didn’t think this was abuse as I had said yes in the end, even though he and I both knew I didn’t want to.
      He’s very degrading and can say very nasty and hurtful things, then will laugh it off and tell me to get a grip. He uses my own mental health problems (like (detail removed by Moderator)) against me or to gaslight me/make me think it’s all me.
      Up until now there has never been any form of physical abuse, and I have always said to myself if he ever did hit me then that would be it I’d be gone straight away (I’ve been offered refuge but not wanting to cause too much upheaval for the children, and so have been waiting for a house through social housing)