Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Camel
      Participant

I’m new to any forum discussing this but there’s this need to speak out about my experiences. I’m several years out of a controlling relationship but it took a couple of years before I knew how to label it. I see myself as a survivor in that I now feel whole and complete in my own skin. But still researching and analysing, this long after, must mean I’m still healing.

I know the term is bandied about a lot lately but it’s a fact – I was raised by a (detail removed by moderator) mother. She didn’t involve herself in her daughters’ lives, too busy was she creating drama and division. We walked on eggshells, tiptoed and whispered and kept out of her way. I became the pleaser, trying always to be good, trying to anticipate what would stop her rage. One sister became the rebel and embarked on dangerous and self-destructive behaviour in her search for love and validation. The other sister sailed through this atmosphere apparently unaffected though now she’s a full-blown n********t too. (I love and value them both, now were reconciled.)

I grew up with low self-esteem, despite being a high achiever. I had a distorted self-image and believed I was too ugly for a boy to like me. The first one that showed any interest became my boyfriend. I’m not sure I even liked him but I was grateful and forgave his explosive temper and his cheating. I’d already learned that relationships were full of drama; that love was conditional and would be withdrawn arbitrarily. I’ve had a handful of long term relationships and not all of them have been bad, but most have. I didn’t know what a healthy relationship looked like and I still don’t think I do.

The relationship that triggered this healing process was really bad. My research labels him a jealous controlling n********t and he had me crying and on a roller coaster of drama within weeks.