Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Jubbly101
      Participant

I’m brand new here and I have never done anything like this before. I have only just began to admit what the father of my child has done to me throughout the duration of our relationship. Trying to escape from someone who is controlling and manipulating really is the hardest thing in the world and something no one prepares you for. It’s like you’re constantly feeling trapped and suffocated and the most frustrating aspect is I know exactly what he’s doing to me but I don’t have the mental strength to stay away from him. We have a child together and I wanted to keep things amicable, however, the longer this goes on the more I’m realising that isn’t going to be possible. Where do I find the mental strength to do this? How do they manage to work their way into your head to make you feel like you’re the controlling one or you’re the one that just wants to argue all the time. Someone, please say it gets better, that it isn’t as scary as it feels, that it isn’t as lonely as it feels.

Lottieblue
      Participant

Hi there @Jubbly101 and welcome!
      We were all new here once and each and every one of us knows how terrifying it is firstly to admit that we are in an abusive relationship and secondly to see it in black and white in front of us.
      Are you still in a relationship with this man – do you live together?
      The Wise Ones of the forum will be along soon, but I just wanted to say Well Done for taking the huge step of reaching out.
      LB 💕💕

Mum2
      Participant

Hi there Jubbly101,