Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Sportygirl
      Participant

I’ve finally woken up to the fact that I am living with emotional and psychological abuse. My exit plan involves moving into my own home and it will take around six months. In the meantime I have to live with the abuser. I am using my time to become informed, learning about the cycle of abuse, trauma bonding etc but also looking forward in a positive way and developing my skills, learning about self development etc, to be better equipped, as I will need all these skills when I move out and live by myself, which I’ve never done before. Has anyone else experienced this? I would welcome tips on:

1. How to emotionally detach as much as possible while still living with the abuser.
      2. How to become an observer of his behaviour rather than a victim. For example when he is hot and cold, giving me the cold treatment, ignoring me, womanising behind my back etc. What narrative can I tell myself that is healthier than being sucked in and feeling hurt.

I feel it is important for me to start preparing to leave internally at least, so that when I physically I have some internal scaffolding to support me through what will be a major transition. I’d welcome any positive suggestions.

Chocolatebunnie
      Participant

I’m not able to offer any advice really but I’ve been told to just be normal to avoid him realising that you are planning to leave.

Have an escape plan in case things do escalate between now and when you leave.

Write a journal of what you’re thinking and feeling so you can reread the events and see the cycle. So when he’s pulling you back in you can remind yourself of the reason why you’re planning to leave.

Selfcare is important too as this is a truly stressful time.

Take care, stay strong and hugs to you xx

browneyedmum
      Participant

Hello SportyGirl,

I almost could have written the post above. And CB gave you some great advice, insofar as looking after your safety first.