Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Pinkvelvet
      Participant

Hi all,

Firstly I hope everyone celebrating Mother’s Day today was able to have a nice day 💕

The issue I’m having at the moment: I’m struggling recently with letting go of the relationship. I’ve been going to counselling recently and I’ve found it’s helping, but I’m just concerned I’m not going to be able to get past this issue.

I’m not very good at leaving things alone until they’ve been resolved. I’ve always been like this since being young. I can’t let an argument lie or have grudges with people, it’s just not me. However as I know you all know, this isn’t a normal kind of breakup. It’s a breakup with a person who refuses to communicate in a healthy way, and there is no resolution.

He’s tried reaching out to me numerous times, but I’ve tried not to respond because whenever I’ve tried to have a ‘normal’ friendly conversation with him previously, it always turns nasty and he ends up saying things that make me feel rubbish and/or ignite my fight or flight mode, feelings of fear and anxiety. I’ve never truly faced him and told him how his words and actions have made me feel, mostly out of fear as I tried to tell him nicely when we were together and the abuse escalated. So he just sees it as me breaking up with him, abandoning him, and giving him no closure or no ‘reason’ as to why. And I feel like the bad guy. I also feel like I never got to say my peace.

I’ve tried writing a letter (which I didn’t send, because I don’t want to ignite a conversation) and that sort of helped a bit. But it’s this unresolved element that is just niggling away at me. It feels like a blocker in the way between myself and moving on. I can’t move on, knowing he’ll never know how I truly feel.