Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      maddog
      Participant

I am being supported by magic people with magic wands to help me get my benefits and finances sorted out.

I think I am reasonably well educated, intelligent, trustworthy, hardworking etc. Yet all my adult life I have really struggled with work. Again again again people say, why don’t you?

When my friends were all out getting post grad jobs, I was on a self-destructive bender. When I graduated I was terrified of my tutors and terrified of everyone and everything. I decided that I was safer at college than the alternative living with an overwhelming sense of worthlessness and inability to make decisions. I have always felt a sense of not belonging and not being wanted and sort of not really being present.

There have been good times in my working life, although financially rubbish. I have successfully pulled off projects and raised money and I have been given wonderful opportunities. Instead of hitting the ground running, I hit the ground. Most people don’t understand why, and I am left saying I don’t know, I don’t know again and again and again.

I long to be part of the world yet it defies me and I don’t know what is wrong with me. I am good at what I have trained long and hard to do yet there is a blind spot. I don’t even know what to ask. I just don’t know.

KIP.
      Participant

Hi there. Yes I know exactly how you feel. I am covering core beliefs in cbt soon and hope it will shine some light on these core beliefs and how wrong they are and how I avoid life to cope with them. It sounds, like me, your core beliefs that were ingrained at an early stage may be driving your avoidance. Forgive me if I’m way off course, it’s just some thoughts. I feel I underachieved but there’s a great CS Lewis quote. You can’t go back and change the beginning but you can start now and change the ending ❤️

maddog
      Participant